GASB 45 Trust

The TSBA GASB 45 Trust helps those systems wishing to pre-fund their OPEB liability. The trust is administered by TSBA, an entity answerable directly to its members. The school system’s investment will lower their annual required contribution (ARC) and their overall OPEB liability. By pooling resources, the TSBA GASB 45 trust will lower per-system costs and has the potential to increase the system’s return on investment.

TSBA has partnered with Willis, a leading financial advisory group, to provide the actuarial service required by GASB 45 at a competitive price. For information on how your system can join the Trust, please contact Leigh Mills at ext. 3905.

The following districts are members of the GASB 45 Trust:

  • Arlington Community Schools
  • Bartlett City Board of Education
  • Claiborne County Board of Education
  • Collierville Schools Board of Education
  • Hickman County Board of Education
  • Jackson-Madison County Board of Education
  • Johnson County Board of Education
  • Lakeland School System
  • Shelby County Board of Education

The GASB 45 Trustees, which are appointed by the TSBA Board of Directors, are:

  • Bob Alvey, Jackson/Madison County 
  • Kenneth Gregg, Johnson County 
  • Chris Caldwell, Shelby County 
  • Jackie Deitmen, Hickman County 
  • Kevin Woods, Shelby County 
  • Susan Lodal, Kingsport & TSBA President (Ex-Officio)
  • Tammy Grissom, TSBA Executive Director (Ex-Officio)

Dates and locations for the 2015 Board of Trustees Meetings:

  • GASB 45 Trust Special Called meeting -Wednesday, April 29 from 8:30-10:00 a.m. at the TSBA Headquarters
  • Sunday, November 15, 2015; Gaylord Opryland Resort and Convention Center

Frequently Asked Questions

Pricing & Data Request Sheet


GASB OPEB Resolution

OPEB Trust Document

Trust Interlocal Agreement

Trust Bylaws

Trust Policies