2016 Board of Directors - Officers

Debbie Shedden

Debbie Shedden serves as the 2016 TSBA President. She served as the 2015 TSBA President-Elect, 2014 TSBA Vice-President, and the 2013 TSBA Treasurer.  Elected to the Hawkins County Board of Education in 2008, Debbie is currently the Chairman Pro Tem, and is the Board-elected delegate on the Tennessee Legislative Network.  Debbie served as the Northeast District Director from 2011-2012, and has also served as the Federal Relations Network District Coordinator. She was a TSBA GASB 45 Trustee from 2009-2012, and has served on the TLN Board of Directors. Debbie has achieved the Level V/ Master Board Member status in 2011, as well as being named 2011 Tennessee School Board Member of the Year - C. Hal Henard Distinguished Service Award, and being named to the 2011 All Tennessee School Board.  She is a Diamond TSBA Ambassador for Education, and received the Premier Ambassador Award in 2013 and 2014.  She has worked as a SCOPE Group Leader, and authored articles for the TSBA Journal on solar power and energy.  In March, 2015, Debbie was one of eighteen members appointed to serve on the TN Department of Education Commissioner Candice McQueen’s TN Task Force on Student Testing and Assessment.  She also is serving on the NSBA National Nominating Committee for 2016, and was the recipient of the NSBA Distinguished Service Award in 2011.  Debbie graduated from Campbellsville University, and holds a B.A. Degree in English and Education.  She serves as the Secretary for the Rogersville Rotary Club, is the Rotary Presidential Nominee for 2017, and was named a Paul Harris Fellow in 2014.  She is a 2013 graduate of Leadership Hawkins, a former President of the American Heart Association, and has served on the Rogersville Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors.  Debbie is an active sponsor for the local Interact Club, and works with the Student Board Representatives for her local board. She also serves on the Mid-East TN Regional P-16 Council for Excellence in Education.  Debbie’s husband, Bill, is a Supervisor for Kingsport City Schools, and is the current President of the TN School Plant Management Association.  Debbie and Bill are the parents of four children - Jason, Austin, Katie, Dolly, and three grandchildren - Austin, Launa, and Harper Rhea.


Wayne Blair

Wayne Blair is the 2016 TSBA President-Elect. He served as the 2015 TSBA Vice President, 2014 TSBA Treasurer and has served on the Rutherford County Board of Education since 2006. He currently serves as board chairman and served as vice chairman since 2012 and also in 2007-2008. He is a level V Master School Board Member in the TSBA Boardsmanship Program. Wayne was an At-Large Member on the TSBA Board of Directors in 2009-2010 and has served on the Tennessee Legislative Network, Federal Relations Network, and as a TSBA Ambassador since 2008. He served on the School Board Academy Advisory Committee in 2010 and is a current member of the Tennessee Legislative Action Committee. He served on the selection committee to evaluate for Boards of Distinction in 2012. Wayne has attended many NSBA functions and has received the NSBA Distinguished Service Award in 2008 and again, in 2011. He is a member of the Read to Succeed Executive Board, Past President of both the LaVergne and Smyrna Rotary Clubs and Past PTO President at three different schools. Wayne is an active member of the Rutherford County community. He earned his Bachelor of Science degree from Middle Tennessee State University. He has two children, Zack, Hilary and son-in-law Ryan Schmidt.


Faye Heatherly

Faye Heatherly is the 2016 TSBA Vice President. She served as the 2015 TSBA Treasurer. Faye served on the Campbell County Board from 2000-2010 and was re-elected in 2014 - present. She has served as Board Chairman in 2008 and Vice Chair in 2007. In her previous term, she served as the TSBA President-Elect in 2010, TSBA Vice President in 2009, East District Director from 2004-2010 and At-Large Member in 2003. Faye received the National School Boards Association Distinguished Service Award in 2007. She is a Level V/Master School Board Member and was named to the All TN School Board in 2005. She has served on the Tennessee Legislative Network and the Federal Relations Network. She has also served as PTA President and Secretary and is a former member of the LaFollette Business and Professional Women’s Organization, where she served as President for two terms and was given the “Woman of the Year” award. She serves on the Executive Board for the Campbell County Baptist Association and on her church finance committee. Faye, with her late husband, Rev. Paul Heatherly, has four children, seven grandchildren and six great grandchildren.


Tim Stillings

Tim Stillings is the 2016 TSBA Treasurer. He has served on the Franklin Special Board of Education since 1998 and has served as Board Chairman since 2014. He was Vice Chairman from 2010 – 2014, Board Secretary from 2004 – 2010 and Board Treasurer from 2003-2004. Tim is a Level V/Master School Board Member in the TSBA Boardsmanship Program and a three-time recipient of the NSBA Distinguished Service Award.  He served as a Tennessee Legislative Network Representative from 2012-2013 and board representative to the districts’ Financing for the Future Task Force.  Tim chaired the FSSD Technology for the Future Task Force. He is a member of the Franklin Morning Rotary Club and a former Director of the Franklin Noon Rotary Club.  He has served on the Education Committee of Franklin Tomorrow, is an active member of Williamson Inc., and the United Methodist Church. Tim and his family have been a part of five international mission trips to build schools, churches and community facilities with the Nicaragua Project; construct electrical and clean water infrastructure in Honduras; and deliver medical/dental/pharmacy services to poverty stricken communities in Uganda through the Raise the Roof program. Tim works as an Operations Consultant for Financial Institutions and manages a portfolio of residential real estate investments, YOUniqueProperties.  He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Communications/Business from Arkansas State University with post graduate studies at Belmont University, Middle Tennessee State University, Ross School of Business at the University of Michigan, and the Southeast School of Banking at Vanderbilt University.  Tim is a private pilot, a Licensed real estate Affiliate Broker, and a ballist for the Franklin Farriers, a local vintage baseball team playing by the rules and customs of 1864.   He and his wife Melissa have two children, Greg 27 (Lauren), and Haley, 23.  

Susan Lodal

  • Immediate Past-President
  • email
Susan Lodal  is the 2016 TSBA Immediate Past President. She served as the 2015 TSBA President, 2014 TSBA President-Elect, 2013 TSBA Vice President, was the 2012 TSBA Treasurer. She has been a member of the Kingsport Board of Education since 2003 and served as Board Vice President 2004-2008 and 2013-2015. She was Board President 2008-2010. Susan has achieved Level V/Master Board Member status in the TSBA Boardsmanship Program, was named the Tennessee School Board Member of the Year/C. Hal Henard Distinguished Service Award Winner for 2010, received the TSBA Scholars Circle Award in 2014, and has received the NSBA Distinguished Service Award three times (2007, 2010, 2012). Susan served as an At-Large Member (Chair of the TLN Board) on the TSBA Board of Directors in 2007 and 2008 after being involved with the TLN through various positions since 2003 and serving on the Kingsport Area Chamber Legislative Affairs Committee since 2004. Susan holds a B.S. Degree in Medical Technology from Purdue University. In her community, she also volunteers in the Waverly Road Presbyterian Church Food Pantry and as a long-time volunteer tutor in two elementary schools. Susan is married to Peter and they have three grown children and seven grandchildren.